Enquête

Wat is jouw favoriete studio-album uit november 2021?

Archgoat – Worship The Eternal Darkness
Black Label Society – Doom Crew Inc.
Bullet For My Valentine – Bullet For My Valentine
Converge & Chelsea Wolfe – Bloodmoon: I
Crazy Lixx – Street Lethal
Cynic – Ascension Codes
Der Weg Einer Freiheit – Noktvrn
Exodus – Persona Non Grata
Gov't Mule – Heavy Load Blues
Hemelbestormer – Collide & Merge
Hypocrisy – Worship
In Mourning – The Bleeding Veil
Khemmis – Deceiver
Lock Up – The Dregs Of Hades
Lordi – Superflytrap / Lordiversity
Negură Bunget – Zău
Obscura – A Valediction
Omnium Gatherum – Origin
Proscriptor McGovern's Apsû – Proscriptor McGovern's Apsû
Rhapsody Of Fire – Glory For Salvation
Stormkeep – Tales Of Othertime
Swallow The Sun – Moonflowers
Unleashed – No Sign Of Life
Voices – Breaking The Trauma Bond
een ander album uit november, namelijk:

[ Uitslag | Enquêtes ]

Geen concerten bekend voor 06-01-2022.
Kalender
Vandaag jarig:
  • Anders "Andy" Johansson (Diablo Swing Orchestra) - 43
  • Freddy Persson (Nostradameus) - 45
  • Randy Rhoads (Ozzy Osbourne)† - 65
  • Tim Roth (Into Eternity) - 46

Vandaag overleden:
  • Huddie "Lead Belly" Ledbetter - 1949
Review

Darkthrone - NWOBHM
Jaar van release: 2007
Label: Peaceville Records
Darkthrone - NWOBHM
Darkthrone heeft schijt aan alles en iedereen en de heren doen gewoon waar zij op dat moment zin in hebben en de EP NWOBHM (New Wave Of Black Heavy Metal) is daar weer een lichtend voorbeeld van. Waar het laatste album The Cult Is Alive al bij menigeen de wenkbrouwen deed fronsen vanwege de rock ’n roll invloeden en de versterkte punk inslag, zal NWOBHM ook weer voor de nodige verbazing zorgen.

Waar ik nog erg kon genieten van The Cult Is Alive heb ik bij NWOBHM toch mijn bedenkingen. Openingsnummer Wisdon Of The Dead is ietwat nietszeggend en kabbelt nogal voort. Het daaropvolgende nummer Canadian Metal lijkt nog het meest op het laatste album; het ramt lekker door en ook de lekker vuige gitaarsolo’s zijn erg leuk, maar echt warm of koud word ik er niet van. Hedninger Fra Helvete lijkt mede door de (opeens wel heel dunne) productie op het oude werk van Darkthrone uit midden jaren 90, zonder toch die moribide sfeer helemaal opnieuw te creëeren. Afgesloten wordt met een cover genaamd Bad Attitude van de mij totaal onbekende band The Testors; een ranzig rock ’n roll nummer dat niet echt een toevoegende waarde heeft.

Echt vrolijk kan ik niet worden van deze EP en ik ben dan ook ietwat huiverig voor de komende full-length F.O.A.D. Darkthrone heeft bij mij zelden voor teleurstelling gezorgd, maar NWOBHM is toch duidelijk niet wat ik van Darkthrone verwacht.

Tracklist:
1.Wisdom of the Dead
2.Canadian Metal
3.Hedninger Fra Helvete
4.Bad Attitude (Testors Cover)

Reviewer: Jan
Toegevoegd: 11 september 2007

Meer Darkthrone:

Darkthrone - NWOBHM
Reactie van Baldurs Tod op 12-09-2007 om 10:24u
Score: 85 / 100

Vette EP, ik ben erg benieuwd naar het album.

Darkthrone - NWOBHM
Reactie van Een Metalfan op 12-09-2007 om 14:11u

Black Metal is krieg!

Darkthrone - NWOBHM
Reactie van Een Metalfan op 12-09-2007 om 21:45u

wordT ik niet erg warm of koud van?

Darkthrone - NWOBHM
Reactie van m4ggot op 14-09-2007 om 18:48u

de regels van d en t: stam + t bij de 2e en 3e persoon enkelvoud...

Darkthrone - NWOBHM
Reactie van Nasir op 31-12-2012 om 22:09u

Good list Chris, I got into metal in the mid-eighties and had to go back and discover these albmus. Here's my thoughts:1. Black Sabbath-The Mob Rules. In my opinion it's a better album then Heaven and Hell. Never got to see them live but saw Dio perform The Sign of The Southern Cross with Doug Aldrich on guitar when playing all of Holy Diver.2. Def Leppard- Hign n Dry. Great album but I prefer Pyromania and Hysteria to be honest. They always play more from it outside the U.S. Don't like On Through the Night at all.3. Iron Maiden- Killers. When I heard this I thought Dickinson had been the only Maiden singer. Great album. Clive Burr really was a great drummer back then.4. AC/DC- For Those About To Rock Solid album that I listen to more then Back In Black that's been played to death. Title track is a fantastic song.5. Ozzy-Diary of a Madman. My favourite Ozzy album when I first heard it and now. Wish he would perform more songs off it live but I did see Stryper play a fantastic version of Over The Mountain when they toured earlier in the year.6. Saxon- Denim and Leather. A band I am getting back into after not following for years. Consistently overlooked despite a string of great albmus including this one, still making great music today.7. Whitesnake- Come and Get It. To me the best album from the bands pre MTV days. Not a bad song on this one.8. Venom-Welcome to Hell. Never owned it, heard a couple of songs and didn't get it. Got into a lot of bands they influenced though.9. Raven- Rock Until you Drop. Don't have it and never really heard the band to be honest.The rest:Motley Crue- Too Fast For Love. Sounds amateurish and a litte too raw to me although maybe that's the charm of it, has some great songs. Much prefer Shout at The Devil and Girls,Girls,Girls. To me the album with Corabi is their best.Y&T- Earthshaker. Fantastic band but again prefer Black Tiger and Meanstreak. First album I heard was Contagious and I am well in the minority here but I love that album. Still great live too.Sammy Hagar- Standing Hampton. Don't have this one. Loved him with Van Halen even though it was a different band. Has a patchy solo career, Ten 13 ia a great cd.Van Halen- Fair Warning. Fantastic album, just genius. First six albmus are essential. Wished I could have seen them live, maybe next year if that bloody cd ever gets released.Riot- Fire Down Under. Gotta be honest and say I don't own or have ever heard any of this. Must be up there with worst album cover ever. Enough of my ramblings, in 81 I remember listening to Depeche Mode, Adam and the Ants but was curiously looking at album covers owned by my dad by a band called Status Quo. I was 10.

Alle artikelen en foto's (afgezien van albumhoezen, door bands/labels/promoters aangeleverde fotos of anders aangegeven), zijn © 2001-2021 Metalfan.nl, en mogen niet zonder schriftelijke toestemming gekopieerd worden. De inhoud van reacties blijven van de reageerders zelf. Metalfan.nl is niet verantwoordelijk voor reacties van bezoekers. Alle datums van de Nieuwe Releases, Concertagenda, Kalender en in de artikelen zijn onder voorbehoud.